The Francis Trilogy

Cover image for

The Francis Trilogy

edited by
J. A. Wayne Hellmann, OFM Conv., and William J. Short, OFM
Page Count
387 pages
Publication date
Cover image for
    About the book

    This volume contains three major texts of Thomas of Celano: The Life of Saint Francis, The Remembrance of the Desire of a Soul, and The Treatise on the Miracles of Saint Francis.

    Within two years after his mentor's death, Thomas of Celano composed The Life of Saint Francis of Assisi, a portrait of the newly canonized Umbrian. Less than twenty years later, in The Remembrance of the Desire of a Soul, Thomas conveyed the wonder and uniqueness of the saint's life and vision with poetic power. Hardly had this work become known when Thomas composed a comprehensive, orderly view of extraordinary events in Francis' life, The Treatise on the Miracles. The three classic works appear here for the first time in one volume.

    Thomas of Celano’s early literary portraits of Francis bring us into intimate contact with the Poor Man of Assisi. These works exhibit that rare combination of charm and profundity. Every lover of Francis will treasure this volume.

    Lawrence S. Cunningham
    John A. O'Brien, Professor of Theology The University of Notre Dame

    About the author

    Thomas of Celano OFM was an Italian friar of the Franciscans as well as a poet and the author of three hagiographies about Francis of Assisi.